You Are In: The Library / Astronomy

Our solar system is made up of a star (the Sun), nine planets, more than 125 moons and a bunch of comets and asteroids. The nine planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Mercury is the closest to our Sun – Pluto is the farthest. An easy way to remember the order of the planets is to memorize a rhyme like this: My Very Educated Mother Just Served Us Nine Pizzas. To learn more click on the menu below!

For decades we have sent spacecraft out to explore our solar system. Click on the icon to the right to see a nice Flash animated summary of these probes from Voyager I and II up to the newest Mars Rovers. Source: NASA - JPL





© 2009 Lunar Outpost, LLC | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Partners